We are pleased to announce the twelve finalists in the 2014 Carmel Bird Award, judged by Michael McGirr. Our mission for the 2014 competition was to find the best Australian long stories between 4,000 and 10,000 words. We received an unprecedented number of entries and our hard-working judge declared that the whole exercise had been ‘ a real pleasure’! Thanks to all those who entered.

The overall winner, who will receive a cash prize of $500, will be announced on Friday Jan 9 and all twelve stories by the finalists will be released by Spineless Wonders as digital singles in 2015.

The twelve finalists as follows (alphabetically):

Claire Aman, ‘Why the Owl Gazes at the Moon’

Rebekah Clarkson, ‘Dancing on Your Bones’

Ron Elliott, ‘The Lake Story’

Erol Engin, ‘A Tintoretto of the Soul’

Lukas Jackson, ‘Flatrock 1979’

Andy Kissane. ‘Love Bites’

Marjorie Lewis-Jones, ‘We’re All Travellers Here’

Anthony Lynch, ‘Rent’

Jessie Mitchell, ‘Remembering Mardion’

Jane Skelton, ‘Flying Foxes’

Ariella Van Luyn, ‘Bulldozer’

Mark Vender, ‘Adnarchy’